Friday’s Internet Goodies: Books Like Breathing

InternetGoodiesGrace is  25 years old and lives in NYC. She has a Bachelor’s in History and Women and Gender Studies from Pace University and a Master’s in Information and Library Science from Pratt Institute. She describes herself as a “fairly voracious” reader, and hopes eventually to find a job in the publishing industry as an editor or a publicist. Here is the rest of what she has to say about herself:

Most of my “fun” classes in undergrad were English Literature classes. I will read just about anything but I lean more towards romance (all forms…regencies, contemporary, highlander, paranormal, anything…) and YA. I tend to avoid science fiction and mysteries unless it is a very unique book or of particular interest to me. My favorite author of all time is Jane Austen. Her books are my salvation. I read them over and over again. I also love Jane Austen sequels. I have over 100 in my bookshelves and they will all be reviewed here eventually.

Grace accepts  review requests of both print and e-books:

I do accept a very limited number of self-published titles mainly of the romance persuasion. Preference is always given to books in my preferred genres. as well as to authors and publishers I love and have worked with before.
BooksLikeBreathingGrace’s preferred genres are: Romance, especially
  • Historical (esp. Regencies, Highlander, Victorian, Irish, Pirate…anything really)
  • Contemporary
  • Western
  • Paranormal
  • Romantic Suspense
  • Steampunk-Just read my first one and…so good.
  • I have a particular love for romances with particularly bad rakes and rogues. The badder the better.

She also likes:

  • Young Adult (mainly paranormal romance)
  • Historical Fiction (limited)
  • Contemporary Fiction
  • Horror(limited)
  • Memoirs/Biography (limited)
  • Chick Lit
  • Cookbooks especially about desserts—I am a baker and will bake and review a recipe from the book with photos.


Grace doesn’t accept:

  • Science fiction
  • Self-help
  • Any type of religious or political book
  • Mysteries or Thrillers
  • Straight fantasy
  • anything “mob” related. It’s just not my schtick and quite frankly, as an Italian-American, I find most of it offensive.

BooksLikeBreathingThe most striking thing about her very detailed policy on books she reviews came in the form of a special note about self-published and Indie authors. Here is what she says:

Note about Self-Published and Indie AuthorsI used to review these books as often as traditionally published books but now, given the rather hostile climate, I will accept a very VERY limited amount of self-published books for review because I am not ready to close that door completely…yet. I will accept books within my genres of preference only–there are no exceptions to this. I will also be more cautious about the authors I do accept. The books I currently have will be reviewed. I am just not willing to take the risk of being attacked if I don’t like a book or don’t get to it quick enough. This is a hobby and it should be a fun one but some authors seem to forget that.

It’s too bad that some self-published and indie authors have soiled the nest for the rest of us who are struggling to promote our own books. People who write books should always remember that their work is for public consumption, and be prepared for a certain number of people who are just not going to like what we write. That is life. We all have to accept it, be polite about it, and move on.
To find Grace’s site, point your browser to: http://bookslikebreathing.blogspot.co.uk/
Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Comment

Filed under Internet Goodies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>